All CS:GO Majors: Winners, Prize Pools, Dates and More

For CS:GO players, the Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) Major Championships, also known as Majors, are the most important esports events. These LAN events, organized by Valve, showcase the best talent Counter-Strike has to offer with millions tuning in to see who are crowned champions and take away a chunk of the giant prize pool. All CS:GO Majors till date have told a story of triumph, setbacks and the ultimate victory in Counter-Strike esports. Let’s look at all the 19 CS:GO Majors to date, including their winners, prize pools and more. 

CS:GO Majors History: Winners and Prize Pools

ESLs, PGLs and DreamHack have made up the bulk of CS:GO Majors so far. The first CS:GO Major was kicked off by DreamHack way back in 2013. Since then, the prize pools have also steadily gone up to hit $1,250,000 USD in the most recent Major. Here are all CS:GO Majors in chronological order along with winners, organizers, host cities and prize pools.

Note that: 

  • ESL One: Rio 2020 is not included, this Major was called off due to the pandemic. 

  • In the IEM Rio Major 2022, competed under the name ‘Outsiders’ due to sanctions against Russia in response to the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine. 

  • The PGL Major Stockholm 2021 featured a $2,000,000 prize pool, double of the $1,000,000 offered since MLG Columbus 2016 because of a lack of LANs amid the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The latest CS:GO Major was the BLAST Paris Major 2023, which ran from 8th to 21st May 2023. The next Counter-Strike Major will be the final one played in CS:GO and is scheduled for November 2023. Next year onwards, Majors will be played on Counter-Strike 2 with the first one set to be hosted by Copenhagen, Denmark. The PGL CS2 Major Copenhagen 2024 is tentatively happening between 17th and 31st March 2024. 






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *